My big fat celebrity encounters
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2003-01-28
3:38 p.m.

It has just dawned on me that I have not had an encounter with a celebrity in just over a year. That is a long time for me. I'm usually bumping into celebrities all the time. Ok, not ALL the time, but often enough to notice some sort of pattern.

Once, while shopping at Villians Vault in SF, I saw Ice-T. In fact, we were looking at the same pair of jeans. I thought that was pretty odd, because I don't consider myself to have the type of style as Ice-T, but whatever. It's all good.

Another time, in New York, I asked Regis Philbin for a ride to the airport. I happened to be in the audience for the Regis and Kathie Lee show. I wasn't planning on it, but some lady asked me if I wanted to be in the audience while I was hanging around 30 Rock that morning, and I just went. Funny stuff like that happens to me. So, I was afraid that I wouldn't make my noon flight out of the city, so I asked Regis if, by any chance, he would happen to be going to the airport after the show. He said no, of course, but did offer to help me find a ride.

The last celebrity encounter that I have experienced was last January when I went to Orlando for a weekend to drink around the world at Epcot. One night, a group of friends and myself went to The House of Blues, where we saw two of the guys from 'NSYNC.

Joey and J.C. J.C. stayed in the VIP area most of the night (I left my pass at home) but Joey was hanging out at the bar area close to where my friends and I were hanging out.

The Strokes were playing the next night at the bar and I was saying how I wished we could stay another night to see the show. I was saying that to everyone around me and no one really knew who The Strokes were. I think Orlando is in some kind of bubblegum pop bubble. I swear that is all I could find on the radio. I couldn't believe that no one knew who The Strokes were.

So, I turned to Joey from 'NSYNC and asked him if he was coming back the next night to see The Strokes. He gave me a puzzled look and said he didn't know what that was. Now that was insane. This guy is IN the music business, and he hadn't heard of this up and coming band that was more up than coming. Crazy. I told him that he needed to watch more MTV2. He said he didn't have time to watch TV. I forgot that watching television is not a celebrity thing to do...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo