alarm clocks are for suckers
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2003-05-28
8:29 a.m.

I am at work so early, and I even went out last night. I don't know what it is about me and waking up early lately, but I am not liking it one bit. I haven't even used my alarm clock in about a week due to me waking up on my own.

I actually woke up a little bit before 6am and knew I would not be going back to sleep, so I decided to get up for the day. At 6am. That's just wrong. I don't even know what normal people do at that hour, so I went to a coffee shop. I drank my latte and ate a bagel and read some James Thurber. The Thurber House is calling for writing submissions this week and I am thinking about doing it. I thought maybe if I read some of his writing, I might be inspired.

I love it how I act like 6am is such an ungodly hour. I'm sure many people get up that early, but it is just not for me. My rule is to get up sometime while the "Today Show" is on. I figure waking up anywhere between 7 and 9am is perfectly fine. I was so glad when they extended the "Today Show" to 10am a couple of years ago. That meant I had an extra hour to sleep in.

The Sondre Lerche/Long Winters/Nada Surf show last night was really really good. They got a really late start, so I didn't miss a thing. Sondre was first and he was amazing. His CD is great, but he really shines live. I got to talk to him after his performance, too. I act like we had this really amazing conversation, but all I said to him was that he was really great. I wish I had something better to say. I think (hope?) he might be a little gay...

I should have done my homework on Nada Surf. Yeah I have their albums, but I didn't recognize them until they came on stage. It's a shame, too. The drummer was standing next to me the whole night. If I'd have known it was him, I would've said something to him and we probably would have ended up being best friends by the end of the night. I'm sure they would have dedicated a song to me...

Man, am I going to be tired when this latte wears off...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo