I'm lovin' it?
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2004-05-03
4:10 p.m.

Officially, I haven't had fast food since last July. That used to be story, at least. The truth of the matter is that I have been going to McDonald's just about every other day for the past week and a half. I just haven't eaten any of the food. Yet.

Here's the story: I had lunch with a friend from Florida a couple of weeks ago and he told the best news I have heard in a very long time. He told me that some of the McDonald's in Tampa are now serving the apples pies just like they used to back in the day. Fried, not baked. The fried McDonald's apple pies definitely rank in my top 15 favorite things of all time. (Maybe I should do an Oprah and have a "favorite things" entry. Although unlike her show, you all are not getting my favorite things. I'm poor; I can barely afford them myself.)

It was a sad, dark day for me when I found out that the fast food chain started baking their apple pies in some attempt to be a little healthier. Fast food places are not supposed to be healthy. Fry everything!

The first time I went to Europe in 1996, I was in a London airport, getting ready to fly home and was starving so I decided to pop in the McDonald's. I was so happy when I saw that they still fried their apple pies. I couldn't believe that I found this out at the end of my trip! Whenever I go back to Europe, I always make it a point to run into a Mickey D's at least two or three times each trip. Those apple pies are just too good to pass up.

My problem now, though, is that I can't find the fried apple pies at any of my local McDonald's. I'm going crazy trying to find them. Once I have my mind set on something, it's all I can think about. Maybe they are only being offered in Tampa, Florida for now. If anyone out there goes to a McDonlad's anytime this week, please let me know what kind of apple pies they are serving.

I'm on a mission, and it might involve a roadtrip to Florida...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo