Let the Music Take Control, Let the Rhythm Move You
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2004-07-01
11:07 a.m.

For reasons purely of kitsch, a group of friends and I went to a C&C Music Factory concert last week. We totally partied like it was 1991!

Days before the concert, I was trying to decide what to wear. It was a difficult decision. If you're bringing back the early '90s and dancing around to "Things That Make You Go Hhhhmmm," you should really be wearing the appropriate clothing. I was thinking bicycle shorts with a big fat neon green stripe down the sides and a hyper-color t-shirt would be the perfect C&C get-up. Rounding out the outfit would obviously be Dwayne Wayne glasses. You know, the eyeglasses with the shades that flip up and down that were made popular by that sit-com character on that "Cosby Show" spin-off. Once I put the out-fit on, though, I realized that I looked like a total idiot and just decided to peg my jeans instead.

The concert itself was pretty ridiculous and super fun. There weren't many people there (big surprise), I guess they only sold 12 tickets and gave the rest away. (Ours were free.) So it was like our own private VIP performance. I don't even think the group should still call itself "C&C Music Factory," since there was only one original member still in the line-up, and he looked like shit.

Oh, and by the way, "Everybody Dance Now," and "Gonna Make You (or is it U?) Sweat" are the same song. I totally thought those were two different songs. I thought I knew three C&C songs, but it turns out I only know two...

Ok, now back to 2004. I've been buying a lot of new CDs lately, but only listening to one. I feel bad for the new music that I'm not listening to. The discs look so lonely and ignored, but I just can't take The Killers out of the CD player. I love The Killers so much and I can't stop talking about them. A friend of mine described them as dance music for people who love rock and roll, which I think is a great explanation. I'll get around to the new Wilco, Ben Kweller, and Beastie Boys soon enough. I'm just not done with my Killers moment...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo