who let the dogs out
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2003-04-23
2:31 p.m.

I have been house/dog-sitting for a week. Today is my last day of it and frankly I am glad it is all over.

When I first started a week ago, I thought it was really nice to be able to get away from home. I pretended that the downtown loft I was staying in was really mine. I even had imaginary wine and cheese parties in the uber trendy loft. (I have just decided that the word "uber" gets on my nerves.)

It would have been a great week, too, if it weren't for the dogs. I am a dog person, too, but this time they really annoyed me. I couldn't be gone for long, because I would always have to let the dogs out or feed them all the time. Is this what's like to have a baby? And from what I understand, taking care of babies is even worse. You can't even lock them in a cage all day while you are at work.

When you let dogs out when you are staying in a downtown loft, you have to walk them down the stairs and outside and across the street where there is actually grass. It was work. The dogs (there were two of them: George and Kramer) had problems with crossing the street on command. Every time we went outside, I thought for sure a car would hit one of them.

I don't think I can handle the pressure of dog-sitting anymore. The next time my friends ask me to watch their dogs, I'll still yes, though. I'll just drop the dogs off at the kennel after they leave and make sure I get them back before they arrive. That way, I'll get to enjoy the loft without the inference of the dogs. Is that so wrong???

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo