will you be my diarylandster?
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2003-09-25
4:26 p.m.

Sometimes if there is a big trend sweeping across the country, I try to avoid it. I am all about going with the flow, but sometimes I just like to be different, especially if it has to do with the really popular stuff. I either like to dismiss it immediately because it is stupid, or because that was so last week for me. Yes, I try to stay ahead of the times.

Having said all that, though, I can't help but write about Friendster. I hate loving it at the height of it's success. I mean, if Rollingstone is writing a blurb about it, it must be on its way out. I guess it could be worse, though. Vanity Fair could have done an article about the site.

I can't help it, though. I love Friendster. I think I might even be obsessed with it. I am always trying to add new friends. And by new friends, I mean people I actually know. I don't need inanimate objects or fictional television characters to be friendsters with me. (Although, I have been trying to add Phantom Planet - the band really is on friendster - but with over 1,000 people listed as their friends, they are way over their allowed limit.)

So, in order to search to see if people you know are on the friendster site, you need to know their first and last names. I didn't really realize it before, but I have so many friends and I know none of their last names. It's alittle bit sad. I never really think of myself as having best friends, but I guess if I know your last name, then I would consider you my best friend. That's my new way to tell the difference between my friends and my really good friends.

The other problem I have run into is that I used to know alot of my friend's family names, but I can't remember them. Like the friends I went to highschool and college with. It would be nice to try to find them and get back in touch, but I can't remember their whole names. And when I try to recall certain last names, celebrity names pop in my head. I know I went to highschool with a girl named Katie, but it wasn't Katie Couric and that's the only last name I can think of.

I mean, not ALL of my friends are celebrities...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo