Help! I'm trapped in the library!!!
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2003-09-14
10:37 p.m.

The library and I go way back. The first job I ever had was the shelver position at the library when I was 15 and a half. When I went away to college, my part-time job was a position in the processing department at the public library in Bowling Green. After college, I accidentally got a job at the library I started at when I was in high school. I was just in there to visit some people I used to work with, and they hired me on the spot. It wasn�t long after that that I was promoted to manager of a smaller branch.

So, it should come as no surprise that I have found myself back at the library again. I can run, but I can�t hide room from that building of books.

My trip to the library here in Provincetown last week started out innocent enough. I was just stopping in to get �Invisible Monsters� by Chuck Palahniuk and some books by Richard Brautigan. I got my books and picked out a couple of DVDs and went to check them out. I happened to mention to the librarian that I used to work in a library and I was suddenly handed a volunteer sign up sheet. That�s right, I am the library�s newest volunteer. Apparently I am also the library�s youngest volunteer. I have only met a couple of my fellow volunteers so far, but they all could�ve been in that yoga class I took a couple of months ago that I like to refer as �stretching for seniors.�

It�s only two hours a week, so the volunteering is something I can handle. Besides, I�ve always wanted to give something back to the community. And I like to help out the libraries.

Speaking of which, have you bought a book for the library I used to work at? What are you waiting for? They still really need your help.

Edited to Add: Since Taydo gave me the shout out for running into the celebrities, I might as well tell you that I saw Calvin Klein eating lunch this weekend...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo