hobos love me
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2005-01-28
11:39 a.m.

I must have one of those faces that doesn�t seem friendly in a bar, but is very approachable on the street and on public transportation. I just don�t know how else to explain all the attention I�ve been getting from the homeless (or people appearing to be) lately.

I can stand around a bar for a couple of hours and not many people will talk to me, but when I step onto the street, the hobos are all up in my shit. Sure, they�re mostly just asking for money, but I also think that they really do care about my well-being.

I was walking near Wrigley Field the other day and had to go through some serious piles of snow and ice. I must not have looked so confident, because the homeless guy walking in the opposite direction took one look at me and shouted, �You�re about to fall on your ass!.� I�m sure that had I not been walking so fast, I would have heard him tell me to be careful.

And then there was the guy standing outside of the movie theater asking me to buy a homeless themed newspaper. I told him that I didn�t have any change but would hit him up on the way out. It was super cold that night, that I thought for sure that he wouldn�t still be outside. I was positive that he would�ve given up and gone home. That�s the thing about the homeless, though. They never go home. Of course he was still out there, so I had to give him a dollar. In return, not only did I get the newspaper, but also the biggest hug a stranger has ever given me.

Even today, on the train, some guy in gray sweat pants started randomly talking to me. He obviously didn�t know the unspoken rule of riding the train in silence. I don�t think he was homeless, though, just crazy.

It�s clear that I�m very approachable, now I just have to figure out a way to get the right people to approach me. I either need to work on a new, friendly bar face, or just start looking for bars full of crazy homeless people. Oh wait, those aren�t called bars, those are called shelters...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo