stories for the price of a latte
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2003-10-24
2:33 p.m.

I just love going to a coffee shop to hang out with a good book and a latte. Just sitting there reading and drinking coffee. (Or as my friend, Christy calls it, a cup of warm delicious goodness.) But what I love even more is going to a coffee shop with a good book and a latte and eavesdropping on all the conversations around me. Just sitting there pretending to read and listening in.

While in Boston the other day, I sat in a busy Starbucks that promised to be full of interesting conversations. When the two guys sitting next to me started exchanging horrible dating stories, I knew their tales would be much better than the book I was �reading.�

The first guy�s story was a great one in a �I�m really glad I�m not that guy� sort of way. We�ll call this guy �James,� mainly because that is what his friend called him. So, I�m just going to assume that his name is James. I mean, why would one person call someone else James if that wasn�t his name?

So, James was at a club not too long ago and wasn�t having much luck in finding someone to take home until the very end of the night. James finally found someone to hook up with and was driving the guy back to his place when they stopped at a red light and noticed that the car next to them was stalled. James is a pretty nice guy (From what I can tell. I mean, you can only gather so much from sitting next to a stranger at a coffee shop.) so he stopped his car and let the stalled driver use his jumper cables. The stalled car guy was also at the same club that night and the guy who was with James was actually more interested in going home with him. So, when the car was up and running, the two guys went home together leaving James all alone.

Poor, poor James. It probably would�ve helped if he was a little better looking, but that is besides the point. The point is, you can get great stories just from hanging out in coffee shops. Madonna says that music brings the people together, but I�d have to disagree. I would like to think that it is the coffee shop that brings the bourgeois and the rebel�

(As a side note, I would like to give a shout-out to Taydo (I still haven�t mastered the art of linking yet, OK???) I had so much fun hanging out with him the other day. Hopefully we�ll get together again before I leave Mass next month. He was a great Boston shopping partner/tour guide. And if you ever need some good diaryland gossip, he is the person to go to�)

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo