I Blame Oprah
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2005-02-21
8:53 p.m.

Just to let you know, my totally free cable lasted for about four days. I didn�t even get to watch a full episode of �Project Runway.� Oh well. Now I�m back to my standard free package of Vh1 and TBS. Oh yeah, I also have ABC Family all of the sudden. Like I really need to get sucked into reruns of �Full House� or �America�s Funniest Home Videos.� Guess what. The videos? Not so funny...

Lately, I�ve been all about trying to be a better person. And I blame Oprah for this. I don�t know why, but every morning I wake up at 9 o�clock on the dot and watch the highly motivating stories that Ms. Winfrey presents. It�s much more riveting than a �Full House� episode or even Regis & Kelly these days. I swear, at least four days a week, Oprah has people on who have changed their lives for the better. The other day is usually about men who kill their wives or one of O�s celebrity best friends. (If I were Gail, I�d be watching my back. Julia Roberts has been on the show at least three or four times this season.)

One of my big goals lately has been to save money. Money that was normally spent on drinking or clothes was saved up for the new computer and the ipod. Don�t worry, I�m still spending tons of money, I just save more of it before I spend it all. But I realized that if I can save enough money for a computer, then I can definitely save for a real vacation or even, I don�t know, a retirement fund. It�s amazing how much money I save by only going out a few nights a week instead of every night.

A way to get more money, of course, would be to get a real job. I have been so lazy about sending out resumes. I decided to take a break from the resume send-outs around the holidays, because I figured that no one really hires around the holidays. Well, we�re fast approaching St. Patrick�s Day, and the job hunt is still on hold. Not for long, though. I�m really feeling motivated. I�m starting to do some freelance music and book reviews. The writing portfolio will grow and so will my chances for getting hired.

Today on �Oprah,� she had people who had managed to find a way to look 10 years younger. Other than dressing a little sluttier than usual, these woman are looking younger because of diet and exercise. Personally, I don�t want to look 10 years younger. (What guy really wants to look 16?) But I do need to focus more on the diet and especially the exercise. I�m thin, but I could definitely gain some muscle weight. My yoga mat has been ignored for about a year. It�s time to pull that bad boy out and also finally get a gym membership.

Looks like my new year�s resolutions are starting now.

If I ever start talking about getting a subscription to O Magazine, though, someone please stop me. I don�t want to get carried away...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo