social light
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2004-01-13
3:38 p.m.

So, yeah. I'm still in Columbus, and I don't really have any idea about what is going on in my life or what direction it is heading. What happened to all that money I saved? Oh yeah. I drank it...

The worst part, though, is that I just waiting tables. That is it. There is nothing wrong with the serving profession, but I do have a college degree and some experience in freelance writing. I thought things would be different.

That's why I hate meeting people at bars and parties. Right after you meet someone, the question of one's occupation is immediately brought up. I really hate saying that I am server, because I feel like there is so much more to the story. But people don't really want to hear, "Well, I was living in Cape Cod, managing a guest house, but now I'm back in town, hopefully for a little while, but I'm not really sure where to go next, so I'm just killing some time by waiting tables." That's kind of a mouth full.

So, I've come up with something to say that is not lying, but also makes it sound like I'm doing something noble. When asked what I do, I tell people that I feed the hungry. It's perfect. I've used it a couple of times already, and it really does get much more respect out of people than when you tell them that you are a waiter.

Feeding the hungry is the work of caring, noble, socialites. I'd rather paint that picture of myself for the moment. It's much prettier than then what I really am: an out of work writer serving food to paying costumers...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo