uggly obsession
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2004-01-21
8:06 p.m.

I usually try to think of myself as always staying above or below the radar when it comes to popular trends. I'm trendy, but not too much. I like to think that in the future when I look at photos of myself, I won't cringe with a "what was I wearing" moment.

I just can't help myself, though, with this latest craze in footwear that's sweeping the nation. Ugg Boots are THE must-have boots of the season. It seems like everyone is talking about them. I saw Oprah going crazy about them on her favorite things episode, I even heard a report about them on NPR. When I found out that no one can even get a pair until May (they are literally sold-out everywhere), I felt a little feeling that told me I MUST HAVE THOSE BOOTS.

Several e-bay auctions later, I am the proud owner of a pair of sand colored classic short Ugg's. I will be the first to admit that they are not the most attractive footwear out there (rumor has it that "Ugg" stands for ugly), but what they lack in style, they totally make up for in comfort. I can't take these boots off my feet. It feels like I'm walking on a cloud! And besides, I think the fact that they are kind of ugly, makes it a cool style of their own. They look good with a hoodie and some jeans tucked into them.

I am so obsessed with the Uggs, that whenever I see other people wearing them, I want to stop them and just talk about how much we love our boots. I spot characters wearing them in tv and movies, and I get a warm a fuzzy feeling. Carrie Bradshaw wears Uggs! So do the a few of the kids in 'Cheaper by the Dozen!' (My mom really wanted to see it, so I took her.)I feel like the only reason I even watch television or go to the movies these days, is to try to spot Uggs on the screen.

If the makers of the Ugg boots are reading this, I think you have found your spokesperson. You can pay me in boots. Call me...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo