My fake mother
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2003-01-20
4:01 p.m.

I just remembered this story that happend over the holidays that I totally forgot to write about on here... So, here we go...

We always have the whole family over at our house for the holidays, so on the eve of Christmas Eve my mom was busy in the kitchen. She asked me to help out by running to the grocery store to pick up a couple of items. She needed milk, flour and a stick of butter.

So off to Krogers I went.

Everyone else was also getting prepared for the holidays because the grocery store was crowded. Finding a parking spot was hard enough, standing in the long line at the checkout lane was downright frustrating.

I decided to wait patiently in line by reading one of the tabloids that was right in front of me. I was reading this fascinating story about Oprah's recent weight gain. (Or maybe she lost weight this time. The story changes every week.) So, I'm reading the story, but I can't help but notice this woman staring at me. I gave her a warm smile that I hoped said, "Hi, nice to see you. OK, look away lady, nothing to see here. Merry Christmas." I can say quite a lot in my smiles.

It didn't work as she continued to stare at me and she finally apologized for staring at me and said I looked just like her son. I smiled again, not really knowing what to say and wishing that the line would move a little faster.

The lady continued to talk to me and then told me that her son had died in a car accident. I was starting to feel bad for this woman and very awkward at the same time. I still didn't know what to say, so I just offered my condolences.

She told me that she didn't get to say good-bye to her son, and it would make her feel so much better if I gave her a hug and said good-bye to her right before she left the store.

I really didn't want to do it, but it was Christmas and it was the least I could do. I have always had a knack for picking the worst lines to stand in at the super market.

After her groceries were bagged the lady turned to me and I gave her a hug, said good-bye and she left. I was getting ready to pay for my three items and was really shocked when the cashier told me my total was $101.94. Just how much does a stick of butter cost these days?

The cashier told me that my "mom" said I would be paying for her groceries as well. I was angry, to say the least, and told the checkout girl that that woman wasn't my mother. She wasn't convinced since she saw me hug the woman and say good-bye. The cashier told me someone had to pay for the groceries.

The manager came over and we argued about it before I decided that I was going to run out to the parking lot to find my alleged mother. The manager thought I was leaving without paying and chased me out to the parking lot.

I was running, looking for the woman, and slipped on the ice. I fell flat on my back and was laying on the cold blacktop when the manager caught up to me. He tried to stop me from getting up and starting pulling my leg. Just like I'm pulling yours right now...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo