going global
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2003-09-11
5:28 p.m.

I am always being asked what my nationality is. I always tell people I am American and they just look at me like, "duh." I guess what they are really wondering is where my ancestors are from.

Last night, I had someone tell me that I look like I could be from Greece.

The last time I was in Europe, all the flight attendents on Swiss Air kept speaking french to me. I wish I knew more french than "wee," so I could've played along. I felt like they were a little disappointed when I finally revealed my American-ness that first time I asked for some apple juice. Before I spoke up, they probably just thought I was a French mute.

Many times in bars, people always ask me if I am Italian. I get that alot. I think that just has to do with the lighting in the bars, though. I feel like anyone can look Italian if the bar is dark enough.

Not one time, though, has anyone ever assumed that I am a Native American. That is a shame, too, because I gave myself an Indian name just in case someone would mistake that as being my nationality. I guess I'll have to keep "Dances with Hair Product" all to myself for now.

Oh yeah, and just in case you were wondering, my ancestors were German and Irish. No one ever guesses that...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo