music first? riiiight...
New Releases - Old Favorites - Bio - Cast Notes - Guestbook - Fan Mail - The Studio

2003-07-23
11:14 a.m.

I can't even watch VH1 anymore. Not that I was a huge a fan of the channel in the first place, but I just can't stand it for even a minute.

I was flipping around the cable channels the other and started watching something on VH1, when I noticed their logo on the bottom corner of the screen. It said VH1, of course, and then under that, it said "Music First." What the huh???

When was the last time anyone has seen a music video on VH1 that wasn't during their Top 20 countdown? The only programs on the channel these days are shows about the past. "I Love the 80s" was great the first 15 times I saw it, but I never need to see that show ever again. I think I have most of it memorized. Now, we have "I Love the 70s" to look forward to seeing over and over for the next six months.

When I flipped on VH1 the other day, they were showing a show called "VH1 Goes Inside TV Sit-com Farewells." It was basically clips of the final episodes of "The Wonder Years" and "Mash" and other shows that ended forever ago.

And don't even get me started on all the shows that deal with "the greatest." Every celebrity has been named the greatest at something on that channel that it hardly seems like a special title anymore.

Instead of "Music First," the channel should change its motto to "Memories First." Pretty soon, though, they will run out of old sit-com and movie clips to show, so they will have to have new shows featuring clips of old VH1 shows. It will only be a matter of time before we have a clip show titled "Remember Behind the Music," featuring the best scenes and interviews from that show mixed in with new comments on the show from some stand-up comics we have never before heard of.

Things would be a lot different (and better) if I ran VH1. I'm just saying...

Recent Attractions / Now Playing

mix tape monday - 2005-10-17
forgotten, but not gone - 2005-09-26
red scare - 2005-06-25
i don't want to settle down, i just want to chew gum - 2005-06-23
the wonion - 2005-06-09
Design by Taydo